How to delete my Facebook account

A lot of people don’t use Facebook as much as they used to. Instagram, messenger and Whatsapp remain very popular, but Facebook itself has lost some of its appeal.

Many now no longer feel the need for a Facebook profile, so want to understand how to delete it.

Permanent or temporary?

First you need to consider two options

1. Permanent deletion

  • You can’t reactivate your account and your profile, photos, posts, videos and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted. You won’t be able to retrieve anything.
  • You won’t be able to use Facebook Messenger.
  • You won’t be able to use Facebook Login for other apps that you may have signed up for with your Facebook account, like Spotify.
  • Some info, like messages sent to friends, may still be visible to them after you’ve deleted your account.
  • If you use your Facebook account to log in to Oculus, deleting your Facebook account will also delete your Oculus information.

See how to permanently delete your Facebook account.

2. Temporary deletion

  • Temporary account deactivation is a little different.
    It’s more of a break from Facebook, where you can still use some features.
  • Your Facebook profile won’t be visible or accessible to others.
  • Your photos, posts and videos won’t be deleted.
  • You can still use Facebook Messenger.
  • You will not be able to use your Facebook account to access Oculus products or your Oculus information.
  • You can come back whenever you want.

See how to temporarily delete your Facebook account.

How to permanently delete your Facebook account

Before you proceed with this, you might want to consider downloading a copy of your Facebook information, such as photos and posts, if you might want to see them in future.

  1. From your profile, click on the drop down icon in the top right hand corner of the screen.
  2. Choose Settings & privacy and then Settings.
  3. Select Your Facebook Information in the column on the left.
  4. Choose Deactivation and deletion.
  5. Select the Delete Account option and then hit Continue to account deactivation
  6. This is your last chance to turn back. Once you hit the final Delete account option, enter your password and then Continue, your account will be permanently deleted.

How to temporarily delete your Facebook account

  1. From your profile, click on the drop down icon in the top right hand corner of the screen.
  2. Choose Settings & privacy and then Settings.
  3. Select Your Facebook Information in the column on the left.
  4. Choose Deactivation and deletion.
  5. Select the Deactivate account option and then hit Continue to account deactivation.
  6. Enter your password and then Continue. Facebook will now ask you why you’re deactivating your account and if you want to opt out of receiving emails from Facebook. Run through these options and then hit the final Deactivate button.